Aion (2009)

by Ji-yeong
5 minutes read


Aion: A Realm Reborn


Aion is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) released in 2009 by NCSOFT. Set in the fantasy world of Atreia, Aion combines PvP and PvE in a seamless and immersive experience. Players can choose from a variety of races and classes, and embark on epic quests, engage in thrilling battles, and explore a vast and visually stunning world.


Aion’s gameplay revolves around the conflict between the two factions of Atreia: the Elyos and the Asmodians. Players can align themselves with either faction and participate in large-scale PvP battles, known as sieges. Sieges involve capturing and defending fortresses, and can involve hundreds of players on each side.

In addition to PvP, Aion also offers a wide range of PvE content, including dungeons, raids, and world bosses. Dungeons are instanced areas that can be completed by a group of players, and offer rewards such as gear and experience. Raids are larger and more challenging dungeons, requiring a coordinated group of players to defeat powerful bosses. World bosses are rare and powerful enemies that spawn in the open world, and defeating them can yield valuable rewards.

Aion’s combat system is action-based, and players can use a variety of skills and abilities to defeat their enemies. The game also features a unique flight system, which allows players to soar through the skies and engage in aerial combat.

Character Customization

Aion offers a deep character customization system, allowing players to create unique and personalized characters. Players can choose from a variety of races, classes, and appearances, and can customize their characters’ skills and abilities to suit their playstyle.

Races and Classes

There are four playable races in Aion: the Elyos, the Asmodians, the Balaur, and the Draken. The Elyos are a winged race with a strong affinity for light magic, while the Asmodians are a demonic race with a strong affinity for dark magic. The Balaur are a reptilian race that serves as the primary antagonists of the game, while the Draken are a playable race that was added in a later expansion.

There are six playable classes in Aion: the Warrior, the Gladiator, the Scout, the Mage, the Priest, and the Engineer. Each class has its own unique set of skills and abilities, and players can choose the class that best suits their playstyle.


The world of Atreia is vast and visually stunning, with a variety of different environments to explore. From lush forests to towering mountains, from sparkling rivers to desolate wastelands, Atreia offers a diverse and immersive world for players to explore.


Aion’s story is set in the aftermath of a cataclysmic event that shattered the world of Atreia. The Elyos and the Asmodians were once a single race, but they were divided by a war over the control of the Tower of Eternity, a powerful artifact that connects Atreia to the heavens. The war resulted in the destruction of the Tower of Eternity, and the Elyos and the Asmodians were separated into two different factions.

Players can experience the story of Aion through a series of quests, which take them across the world of Atreia and introduce them to the game’s characters and lore.


Aion was a critical and commercial success upon its release, and has been praised for its innovative gameplay, stunning visuals, and deep character customization system. The game has won numerous awards, including the Game of the Year award from in 2009.


Aion is a truly epic MMORPG that offers a vast and immersive world to explore, a deep and engaging story, and a variety of different ways to play. Whether you’re a fan of PvP, PvE, or simply exploring a beautiful and detailed world, Aion has something to offer everyone.

Review Score



Cover Art


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More