Clash Royale (2016)

by Nish
6 minutes read


Clash Royale: A Comprehensive Guide

Released in 2016, Clash Royale is a real-time multiplayer strategy game developed and published by Supercell. The game combines elements of tower defense, collectible card games, and multiplayer online battle arena (MOBA) games. Players collect and upgrade cards featuring Clash of Clans troops, spells, and defenses, and use them to battle against other players in real-time.


Clash Royale is played on a two-lane map, with each player having three towers: a King Tower in the middle and two Princess Towers on the sides. The goal of the game is to destroy the opponent’s King Tower before they destroy yours. Players can deploy troops, spells, and buildings to attack the enemy’s towers and defend their own.

Each card in Clash Royale has a unique cost, which is paid in Elixir. Elixir is generated over time, and players can also collect it from Elixir Collectors placed on the map. The cost of cards ranges from 1 Elixir for Skeletons to 6 Elixir for the Golem.

Players can build a deck of up to 8 cards, which they use to battle against other players. Decks can be customized to fit a variety of playstyles, such as aggressive decks that focus on quickly overwhelming the opponent with troops, or defensive decks that focus on protecting their towers and countering the opponent’s attacks.


There are over 100 different cards in Clash Royale, each with its own unique abilities and stats. Cards are divided into four types:

  • Troops: Units that can be deployed on the map to attack the enemy’s towers and defend your own.
  • Spells: One-time use abilities that can be cast anywhere on the map.
  • Buildings: Structures that can be placed on the map to provide defensive support or generate Elixir.
  • Champions: Powerful units that have unique abilities and can be upgraded to increase their power.

Cards can be upgraded by collecting multiple copies of the same card. Upgrading a card increases its stats and unlocks new abilities.

Clans and Clan Wars

Players can join clans to chat with other players, share cards, and participate in Clan Wars. Clan Wars are competitive events where clans battle against each other to earn rewards.

In Clan Wars, clans are matched against each other based on their trophy count. Clans then battle against each other in a series of best-of-three matches. The clan that wins the most matches earns rewards for all of its members.

Competitive Play

Clash Royale has a thriving competitive scene, with tournaments and leagues held all over the world. The top players in the world compete for cash prizes and glory in the Clash Royale League (CRL).

The CRL is a global esports league for Clash Royale. The league features the best players in the world competing in a series of tournaments and leagues. The CRL culminates in the World Finals, where the top players from around the world compete for the title of world champion.


Clash Royale is a fun and addictive real-time multiplayer strategy game that is easy to learn but difficult to master. The game offers a variety of gameplay modes, including 1v1 battles, 2v2 battles, and Clan Wars. With over 100 different cards to collect and upgrade, there is always something new to discover in Clash Royale.

Whether you are a casual player or a competitive esports enthusiast, Clash Royale has something to offer everyone. So what are you waiting for? Join the Arena today and start clashing!

Review Score



Cover Art


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More