Gears of War 4 (2016)

by Christopher
5 minutes read


Gears of War 4: A New Era of Brutality


Gears of War 4 marks a new chapter in one of the most acclaimed video game franchises of all time. Developed by The Coalition and published by Microsoft Studios, Gears of War 4 was released in 2016 for Xbox One and Windows 10. The game continues the story of the Gears of War trilogy, following JD Fenix, the son of Marcus Fenix, as he and his squad fight against a new and deadly threat to humanity.


Gears of War 4 takes place 25 years after the events of Gears of War 3. The Locust Horde has been defeated, but a new enemy has emerged: the Swarm. The Swarm is a race of subterranean creatures that are even more deadly than the Locust.

JD Fenix and his friends, Kait Diaz and Del Walker, are part of a new generation of Gears soldiers who must fight to save humanity from the Swarm. They must also uncover the secrets of Kait’s past and the connection between her and the Swarm.


Gears of War 4 is a third-person shooter with a focus on close-quarters combat. Players control JD Fenix and can use a variety of weapons and abilities to defeat their enemies. The game features a variety of new weapons, including the Buzzkill, a shotgun that fires explosive rounds, and the Dropshot, a grenade launcher that can be used to take down enemies from afar.

Gears of War 4 also introduces a new gameplay mechanic called the “Ultimate Ability.” Each character has their own unique Ultimate Ability that can be used to turn the tide of battle. For example, JD Fenix’s Ultimate Ability allows him to summon a Silverback, a powerful armored vehicle that can be used to mow down enemies.


Gears of War 4 features a robust multiplayer mode with a variety of different game types. Players can compete in traditional deathmatch and team deathmatch modes, as well as objective-based modes such as King of the Hill and Capture the Flag.

The multiplayer mode also introduces a new class system. Players can choose from five different classes, each with their own unique abilities and weapons. The classes are:

  • Soldier: The all-around class, with a balanced set of weapons and abilities.
  • Heavy: The tank class, with heavy armor and powerful weapons.
  • Scout: The stealth class, with the ability to cloak and use silenced weapons.
  • Engineer: The support class, with the ability to repair fortifications and deploy turrets.
  • Sniper: The long-range class, with the ability to use sniper rifles and spot enemies.


Gears of War 4 received critical acclaim upon release. The game was praised for its intense gameplay, immersive story, and beautiful graphics. Many reviewers called it the best Gears of War game since the original.

Gears of War 4 was also a commercial success, selling over 3 million copies worldwide. The game won numerous awards, including Game of the Year awards from IGN and The Game Awards.


Gears of War 4 is a landmark game in the Gears of War franchise. It successfully revitalized the series and introduced a new generation of fans to the world of Gears of War. The game’s success has led to the development of several sequels and spin-offs, including Gears of War 5 and Gears Tactics.


Gears of War 4 is a must-play for fans of the Gears of War franchise and for anyone who enjoys intense third-person shooters. The game’s immersive story, intense gameplay, and beautiful graphics make it one of the best games of its generation.

Review Score



Cover Art


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More