Symphony (2012)

by Nish
5 minutes read


Symphony (2012): A Revolutionary Rhythm Game

Symphony is a rhythm game like no other. Released in 2012, it was developed by Wish Studios and published by Microsoft Studios. The game’s unique concept and innovative gameplay quickly made it a favorite among rhythm game enthusiasts.


In Symphony, your music creates the game. That’s right, the levels are procedurally generated based on the songs in your music library. Each song has its own unique personality, and this is reflected in the gameplay. When the music is intense, the gameplay is intense. When the music is calmer, the gameplay is calmer. Enemies appear and shoot on the beat of the music, and some weapons are even music-driven.

This creates a truly immersive and engaging experience. It’s like playing a rhythm game and a music visualization at the same time. And because the levels are procedurally generated, you’ll never play the same level twice.


Symphony is also incredibly replayable. Each song in your collection not only becomes a unique level, but also provides you with an item you can equip. These items can give you new abilities or enhance your existing ones.

As you progress through the game, you’ll unlock new difficulty levels, new items, and new abilities. This means you have many reasons to play your favorite songs over and over again.


Here are some of the key features of Symphony:

  • Procedurally generated levels based on your music library
  • Intense and engaging gameplay that matches the rhythm of the music
  • A variety of weapons and items to collect and equip
  • Multiple difficulty levels to keep you challenged
  • Online leaderboards to compete with friends and other players


Symphony was developed by Wish Studios, a small independent game studio based in San Francisco. The game was in development for over two years, and the developers worked closely with musicians and rhythm game experts to create a truly unique and innovative experience.

Symphony was released on Xbox Live Arcade in 2012, and was met with critical acclaim. The game was praised for its innovative gameplay, beautiful visuals, and excellent soundtrack.


Symphony is a landmark game in the rhythm genre. It was one of the first games to successfully combine rhythm gameplay with procedurally generated levels. The game’s unique concept and innovative gameplay have inspired many other rhythm games, and it remains a favorite among fans of the genre.


Symphony is a must-play for any fan of rhythm games. It’s a truly unique and innovative experience that will keep you entertained for hours on end. With its procedurally generated levels, addictive gameplay, and excellent soundtrack, Symphony is a game that you’ll want to come back to again and again.

Additional Information

  • Symphony was released on Xbox Live Arcade on August 8, 2012.
  • The game was developed by Wish Studios and published by Microsoft Studios.
  • Symphony received a review score of 8.5 out of 10 from IGN.
  • The game’s soundtrack was composed by Jake Kaufman.
  • Symphony was nominated for several awards, including the Independent Games Festival Award for Excellence in Audio.

Review Score



Cover Art


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More