The Legend of Zelda: Four Swords Adventures (2004)

by Christopher
6 minutes read


The Legend of Zelda: Four Swords Adventures is a 2004 GameCube game that introduces multiplayer elements to the Zelda series. Players can control multiple Links in a quest to defeat Vaati and rescue Princess Zelda, with gameplay that combines traditional Zelda elements with new features and a level-based structure.


The Legend of Zelda: Four Swords Adventures is a groundbreaking game in the Zelda series, offering both single-player and multiplayer experiences. Released in 2004 for the Nintendo GameCube, it is notable for its innovative use of multiple Links and distinct level-based structure.


“The Legend of Zelda: Four Swords Adventures” is the eleventh main installment of The Legend of Zelda series, released in 2004. This action-adventure game, developed and published by Nintendo, incorporates a graphical style that combines elements from “Four Swords” and “A Link to the Past”.

The game begins with an ominous cloud covering Hyrule, instilling fear among the people. Princess Zelda, sensing something amiss with the Four Sword, calls upon her trusted childhood friend, Link. The Four Sword, a magical weapon, had sealed away an evil force for years. However, a dark shadow tricks young Link into drawing the sword from its resting place. This act releases the evil wind sorcerer Vaati, previously imprisoned inside the sword.

Upon drawing the sword, a curse divides Link into four counterparts. These four Links, each a different color, must unite to free Hyrule from the impending darkness. The game introduces an evil counterpart of Link, known as Shadow Link. Link’s adventure aims to restore peace to Hyrule by defeating this newly created nemesis.

“Four Swords Adventures” is unique in the Zelda series as it incorporates multiplayer elements into its main campaign. It is the first game in the series to allow a single player to control more than one Link at once. The game utilizes various methods to allow the player to make use of the four Links, such as formations. It is also the only title to break locations and temples up into succinct, separate stages and levels which can be replayed even after beating them once.

The game’s main campaign, “Hyrulean Adventure”, can be played by one to four players. It consists of eight worlds, each with three stages and a boss battle. The graphics are similar to that of the previously released “Four Swords” for the Game Boy Advance (GBA), but the maps are static rather than randomly generated. The top-down view is taken from “A Link to the Past”, and gameplay includes effects from “The Wind Waker”.

In “Hyrulean Adventure”, most of the same mechanics as “Four Swords” are used. The multiplayer version requires each player to have a GBA, which is used as a controller and to which the action transfers when that player’s character goes off the main screen. But the single-player game may be played with either a GameCube controller or a GBA.

Despite its innovative gameplay, “Four Swords Adventures” is heavily inspired by the music, graphics, and locations of “A Link to the Past”. The game includes enhanced atmospheric effects such as cloud shadows that slowly move across the ground, heat shimmer, dust storms, and fog. The music is based on that of “A Link to the Past”, but is rearranged in places.


Main characters include Link, Princess Zelda, and the villain Vaati. Other characters from the Zelda universe also make appearances throughout the game.


Gameplay in Four Swords Adventures combines traditional Zelda elements with new features. Players can control multiple Links, use formations to solve puzzles, and tackle levels in both single-player and multiplayer modes. The game also includes a mix of combat, exploration, and puzzle-solving.


The Legend of Zelda: Four Swords Adventures stands out as a unique and innovative entry in the Zelda series, offering a fresh multiplayer experience while maintaining the charm and adventure of traditional Zelda games.

Review Score



Cover Art


Fan Art

Fan Art Style: Normal

Fan Art Style: Retro

Fan Art Style: Modern

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More