The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages (2001)

by Ji-yeong
6 minutes read


The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages is a pinnacle of puzzle-oriented adventure gaming, offering players an intricate narrative interwoven with challenging puzzles and time travel mechanics. As part of the celebrated Zelda series, it offers a unique and memorable experience that complements its counterpart, Oracle of Seasons, to form a cohesive and expansive adventure.


Embark on a timeless adventure in The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages. This classic title for the Game Boy Color invites players into a world of intricate puzzles, captivating quests, and timeless gameplay, as they guide Link through a meticulously crafted journey to thwart evil and restore peace to the land.


“The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages” is a captivating game that was released for the Game Boy Color in 2001. This game, along with its counterpart “Oracle of Seasons”, represents the seventh and eighth main installments of the series. The game is named after its central character, Nayru, the Oracle of Ages.

The story begins with a hero named Link, who is mystically transported to the land of Labrynna. There, he encounters a beautiful, blue-haired singer named Nayru. Unbeknownst to many, Nayru is secretly the Oracle of Ages. As the Oracle, Nayru possesses the power to travel through time and keep the flows of time in order.

However, the tranquility is disrupted when a dark shadow appears, taking the form of a woman who calls herself Veran, the Sorceress of Shadows. Veran possesses Nayru and uses her powers to travel to the past and change the present. This causes the world to plunge into chaos.

In the past, “Nayru” creates an endless day for the ruler of the world, Queen Ambi. This is part of an evil plot to create a tower of darkness that Veran intends to climb and use to completely destroy all of Labrynna.

However, hope is not lost. Link, guided by the Maku Tree, embarks on a quest to discover the eight Essences of Time to defeat Veran. He is aided by the Harp of Ages, a harp that allows one to travel through time. With courage in his heart and the fate of Labrynna in his hands, Link sets out to save the day.

The game exhibits special features when played on the Game Boy Advance, the successor of the Game Boy Color. After completing one of the two games, they can be linked to form a single, linear plot with an alternate ending. Game-linking also unlocks extra content, such as new items.

“The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages” was re-released for the Nintendo 3DS Virtual Console in 2013, and again in 2023 for the Nintendo Switch Online. This game, with its intricate plot and engaging gameplay, continues to captivate players, standing as a testament to the enduring appeal of the “Legend of Zelda” series.


The game features a rich cast, including Link, the hero; Nayru, the Oracle of Ages; Veran, the sorceress antagonist; and a host of other characters from the Zelda universe. Each character adds depth to the story, providing challenges, aid, or insights that propel Link on his journey.


Oracle of Ages is lauded for its gameplay, which emphasizes puzzle-solving. Players must utilize time travel to solve puzzles spread across the game’s eight dungeons and vast overworld. The game retains the top-down perspective and gameplay mechanics of Link’s Awakening, while introducing new items and abilities that enhance the puzzle-solving experience.


The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages stands as a testament to the enduring appeal of the Zelda series. With its challenging puzzles, engaging storyline, and timeless gameplay, it remains a beloved classic that continues to captivate players, demonstrating the series’ ability to innovate and inspire.

Review Score



Cover Art


Fan Art

Fan Art Style: Normal

Fan Art Style: Retro

Fan Art Style: Modern

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More