Tomb Raider: Underworld (2008)

by Christopher
6 minutes read


Tomb Raider: Underworld is an action-adventure game that takes players on a journey with Lara Croft to explore ancient mysteries in exotic locations. With its detailed environments, challenging puzzles, and acrobatic gameplay, it provides an immersive adventure experience.


Tomb Raider: Underworld represents a significant advancement in the Tomb Raider series, offering players a blend of exploration, puzzle-solving, and action as they guide Lara Croft through breathtakingly detailed environments around the world.


“Tomb Raider: Underworld” is a single-player action-adventure game developed by Crystal Dynamics and published by Eidos Interactive. The game, released in 2008, is the ninth entry in the Tomb Raider series and the third in the Legend trilogy.

The game’s plot revolves around the protagonist, Lara Croft, an archaeologist-adventurer, who embarks on a perilous journey to uncover the secrets of the Norse underworld and the mythical hammer. The game begins with Lara exploring an ancient ruin on the floor of the Mediterranean Sea. Here, she uncovers proof of the Norse underworld and the mythical hammer.

The game’s narrative is set after the events of “Tomb Raider: Legend”. Lara’s new adventure takes her around the world, exploring ancient underworlds and battling unearthly foes. The game is set around the Mayan calendar, specifically the six lost days which open the gates to the Underworld.

In “Tomb Raider: Underworld”, players control Lara Croft from a third-person perspective. The gameplay involves navigating through a variety of locations around the world. The game features platforming, fighting enemies, and solving puzzles to progress.

The gameplay was redesigned around a principle of Lara’s abilities, with her actions created using motion capture for the first time. A new game engine was created for the project, with the team having troubles transitioning onto next-generation hardware and staff shortages due to production of Anniversary.

“Tomb Raider: Underworld” received mostly positive reviews from critics, with praise for the environments, story, puzzles, exploration, graphics, and the less linear style of gameplay. However, criticism was directed at its camera and combat system. Despite selling below expectations initially, it ultimately went on to sell over three million copies worldwide.

The game was the final Tomb Raider published by Eidos Interactive prior to its 2009 acquisition and rebranding by Square Enix. Following “Underworld”, Crystal Dynamics rebooted the series a second time, with the subsequent game releasing in 2013.

“Tomb Raider: Underworld” is a significant entry in the Tomb Raider series. Its engaging plot, immersive gameplay, and innovative mechanics have left a lasting impact on the franchise and its fans.


Lara Croft, Amanda Evert, Jacqueline Natla, Alister Fletcher, Zip


Tomb Raider: Underworld features a broad range of acrobatic abilities, allowing Lara to reach new heights and interact with her surroundings in innovative ways. The game introduces a dual-target system for combat, enabling Lara to target multiple enemies simultaneously. Players have the choice to pacify or kill enemies, adding a strategic element to encounters.


Tomb Raider: Underworld is a notable entry in the Tomb Raider series, offering players a visually stunning and engaging adventure with Lara Croft. While it has its flaws, the game’s exploration and puzzle-solving aspects make it a rewarding experience for fans of the genre.

Review Score



Cover Art


Fan Art

Fan Art Style: Normal

Fan Art Style: Retro

Fan Art Style: Modern

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More